Valentine’s Treats

The weekend before Valentine’s day, I baked some NFSC, and then decorated some of them on Monday.  I also made a few cake balls, and took some of the cookies and the cake balls to work on Tuesday.

I invited my family and a couple friends over for Sunday the 13th to sample some Valentine’s treats, so on Saturday I went to work making the cakes.  One was simple, just a 6″ candy barrel cake.

The other was a little more challenging.  I got the idea from Bakerella, and mine didn’t turn out nearly as nice as hers.  It was her Red Velvet Cake Ball Cake.  I think it’s going to taste good though.  I did red velvet cake, and I used Duff’s red fondant.  I’m not a fan of Duff’s stuff at Michael’s, but I had a coupon for 40% off, and I hate color mixing red fondant… it’s hard to get a good red!  I was surprised though, the Duff fondant tasted pretty good, way better than the Wilton fondant!  So I covered it with fondant, and made different shapes of cake balls for the chocolates in the box.  I used the leftover red velvet cake for some, and some left over devil’s food cake from the candy barrel cake for the others.  I also tried to make a lid, by just covering a piece of cardboard with fondant.  It did work, but the sides on the box weren’t high enough for the lid to make it look closed lol  so it was really just for looks.

I used some of the leftover red fondant to cover the rest of the cookies

Then I got out the rest of the ones I did earlier with the royal icing.

Everyone should be here in about 15 minutes.  I hope they enjoy the treats!

February 13, 2011. Cake, Cake Pops, Cookies, Holiday.

One Comment

  1. Barbara Locke replied:

    You surely made this a memorable Valentine holiday for your family and friends! You are so talented and artistic in your bakery presentations. Keep it up, Myra!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

