No tricks, all treats!

We decided to do our annual pumpkin carving at my house this year because I wanted to make a bunch of treats and I needed someone to share them with!  So Clint, Piper, the kids, Dad and Jennifer all came over for White Chili, Mummy dogs, and lots of Halloween goodies on Sunday!  So here’s what I came up with… A couple weeks ago I made a Candy Barrel cake for a BBQ at Sam and Jenny’s.  I had always wanted to make one and this was my first attempt:

It’s 2 layers of devil’s food, with a layer of peanut butter cookie between.  Filled with chocolate chocolate chip icing, then covered in chocolate icing.  Then you line the outside with Kit Kats broken into 2’s, and fill the top with Reese’s pieces!   Tie a ribbon around it and you’re done.  The easiest cake to make ever, and it looks so cute!  It’s VERY rich though.

So I wanted to make another Candy Barrel cake, because the kids didn’t get to taste that one, and I wanted Mom and Carl to get to try it too.  So I made the same thing, only tied off with a Halloween Ribbon this time.

And sitting on one of the cute new cake plates I got!  They were each tied with coordinating Halloween ribbon.  How fun!

I also made some giant cupcakes, because I got these cool cupcake wrappers from Sam and Jenny for my birthday a couple years ago and wanted to try them out!  They are real sturdy, you don’t have to put them in a cupcake pan, you just put the batter in and set them on a cookie sheet and they bake right up!  As soon as I saw these papers, I thought of Candy Corn, so I made cupcakes that were layered yellow, orange and white cake inside.  Then tried to do the same with the icing but it was pretty sloppy.  They were cute anyway and tasted good!

I also tried my hand at making some sugar cookies.  I tried the NFSC (No Fail Sugar Cookie) recipe for the first time last weekend and wasn’t happy with the results, so I tried again this weekend and they turned out much better.  This was only my second time trying to work with Royal Icing too.  It was a royal pain… But they turned out pretty cute… after 4 hours of icing them Friday night!!!

I used the leftover cake from trimming the Candy Barrel Cake to make some cake balls.  They were ugly but tasted great!

So here’s what the whole spread looked like together…

I had enough for the pumpkin carving party, sent leftovers home with everyone, took some to work for Heather, and took some to Dallas for Mom and Carl to try.

Happy Halloween everyone!

October 25, 2010. Cake, Cake Pops, Cookies, Cupcakes.

2 Comments

  1. Jennifer replied:

    Everything was awesome to the eye, as well as to the taste buds! Went home in a sugar coma, but it was worth it! Thanks for everything you did, Myra! YUM!

    • myraruss replied:

      Thanks Jennifer! I had fun doing it. Can’t wait for the Halloween party this weekend. Gonna try to make some gross-out treats. We’ll see how that goes… 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

