Fondant and Gum Paste Flowers

So, I had made some roses with fondant on my own, just from watching some videos on You Tube, but I wanted to try to make more flowers, with fondant and with gum paste.  I started with Daisies.  I wanted to make a cake with daisies on it for a get-together at Mom’s with my friends Julie and Jenn.  I thought daisies would be fun and summery.  I looked on Cake Central and You Tube and found some advice and tutorials.  Here’s what I came up with my first try.

The one on the left, I painted a little green pearl dust around the center.  In the tutorials, it said it makes the daisy look more realistic.  Look at all the horrible edges though!  I learned I have to wiggle the cutter back and forth before lifting to get a good clear cut all the way around, with no jagged edges!

While making the daisies for the cake, I made some other flowers and shapes to put on some cupcakes for Julie and Jenn to take home to their kiddos.

Some flowers…

A rose…

A fish for Pete and a rubber ducky for Sam.  I made the duck by pressing fondant into my rubber duck candy mold, then coloring his beak and eye with food writers.

Some shells for Pete and Sam as they were going to see the Oregon Coast.  Made the shells by pressing fondant into candy molds, then brushing with pearl dust.

A little arrangement flowers and leaves.

Hello Kitty for Katie and a baseball for Zach!

So this is how the daisy cake turned out… It was 2 layers of devils food and 1 layer of raspberry cake, with raspberry filling.  Frosted in buttercream, with fondant ribbon at the bottom and sugar pearls, and fondant daisies on the side and top.  It tasted great!

And here are the cupcakes:

But I wasn’t happy with those flowers.  I had read that using gum paste gives a better result because you can roll it then and it hardens up, so I had to give it a try.  I started with roses.  I watched Edna’s tutorial on You Tube.  They are great!  I linked the first one, but it’s a several part series.  Watch them all if you want to learn how to make roses.  She uses some tools, but tries to keep it simple so anyone can learn.  I used her technique of using a round cutter for my petals.  So here’s my progression of the rose:

The base… You make these on the wire, then let them dry hanging upside down overnight.

The next day you add 2 petals to make the rosebud.

After that dries, you add 3 more petals for the small rose.

After that dries, you add 5 more petals for the medium rose.  You could add more petals from there, but I didn’t have a circle cutter that was bigger, and you would need bigger cutters for the next round.  I decided they were good at that point!

Next I bought a kit to help me make Calla Lillys, and I tried to make those.

They were fairly easy to make and looked really real!  I made the centers one night, and covered them in yellow sugar.  Then formed the flower the next night and put them together.  I even did some veining, which you can’t really see in the picture, but it made them look pretty realistic!

Next I worked on some yellow roses.  I bought a new ball tool, so these roses were MUCH easier to work with than the burgundy ones!

I was making these flowers to go into a fall bouquet on top of a cake for Jenny’s Mom’s birthday, so I made some more daisies, sunflowers, and some small orange flowers too.

This is finally what I came up with for the mound of flowers for the top of the cake.

I took the naked cake over to Jenny’s and we filled and decorated it there.  Here’s how the cake turned out.

I’ve learned lots while working on these flowers.  I can’t wait to make more because I got some advice on Cake Central that will help me make them even better next time!

September 14, 2010. Fondant.

3 Comments

  1. Sven replied:

    It was so beautiful, and everyone loved it. Tasted like a dream, too! Thanks again, Myra! My mom thought it was really special!

  2. Jennifer replied:

    Awesome flowers! I especially like the 50th b’day cake! Beautiful!

  3. Helen replied:

    Love the daisies. Wondering if you would mind letting me know what kind of cutter you used as I am going to try myself this week.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

