Last Cake Class!

So Thursday we had our final cake class for the Wilton Decorating Basics Course that Jenny and I took at Michael’s.   Jenny came over the night before and we got our cakes ready.  We had to bring a cake to class already iced in buttercream.  I had an 8″ double layer peanutbutter cake with chocolate pudding and mini chocolate chip filling.  Jenny had a 9″ chocolate cake with homemade raspberry jam filling!  Yum!  We both decided to ice our cakes in white buttercream because of the designs we had chosen to do for our final project.

I wanted to do the “Ribbon Rose Rendezvous Cake”  and Jenny wanted to do a variation of the one of the cakes in our course book.  We made up all the butter cream we would need for the next day, and colored it too.  Then we laughed at Cake Wrecks for a while before she went home.  (Absolutely hilarious… check it out if you haven’t!)

On Thursday we rushed over to class and were surprised that there were only 4 of us in class!  I guess some people weren’t able to make class that night.  It was great though, because instead of Jenny and I both being squished into one table, we each had our own table!  woohoo!  Our instructor showed us how to do writing on cakes, and showed us the ribbon rose again.  Then we started practicing.  Once we practiced for a while, she said we could start decorating our cake.  I decided to use my practice roses for me cake.  Good thing too because we barely got done in time as it was!

So I started off making a mound of frosting on my cake, then placed the roses on it.  I ended up having to make a few more roses to get the design symmetrical.  Then I made little clusters of white dots on the cake.

Next I added some leaves to cover the white mound under the roses.  I wish I would have made the leaves a little bigger.  They look tiny compared to the roses!  Then I piped a quick shell boarder around the bottom and covered it with the white rosette border.

Here’s Jenny piping on her rosette border.  It looks red in the picture but her roses were actually light pink, dark pink and yellow.

Her yellow and pink rose turned out so cool!  This picture doesn’t do it justice!

Here’s her finished cake.

We both had fun with the class, and are planning on taking the other 2 classes sometime in the fall or winter when things aren’t so hectic!!

August 1, 2010. Cake, Wilton Class.

One Comment

  1. Sandy newsom replied:

    You guys both did an astounding job! Great job!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

