When are you opening a cakery??

Ok everyone keeps asking me when I’m going to open my own cake decorating business.  I guess there’s a couple ways you could go about doing that.  One would be opening an actual store front bakery.  I don’t have the money to do something like that.  Plus I can’t afford to walk away from my job into something where I don’t know how much or even if I would make any money!  So a store front bakery is out.

The other option would be to make cakes out of my home, which in Oregon they call a domestic bakery.  (More explanation of a Domestic Bakery here) You have to get a license, and your kitchen has to comply with these rules:

Domestic Kitchens

603-025-0200

Establishments Utilizing Domestic Kitchen Facilities

(1) In addition to the provisions of OAR 603-025-0020 a food establishment in an area which is part of a domestic kitchen shall comply with the provisions of section (2) of this rule.

(2)(a) All domestic kitchen doors or openings to other rooms of the building or structure shall be kept closed during the processing, preparing, packaging, or handling of commercial foods;  My kitchen is open to the the rest of the house, there is no way to close it off from the living room, etc.

(b) No person other than the food establishment licensee, or one under the direct supervision of such licensee, shall directly engage in the processing, preparing, packaging, or handling of commercial foods and no other person shall be allowed in the domestic kitchen during such periods of operation;

(c) No infants or small children shall be allowed in the domestic kitchen during the processing, preparing, packaging, or handling of commercial foods;

(d) No pets shall be allowed in the structure or building in which the domestic kitchen is located; I have 2 indoor cats…

(e) No processing, preparing, packaging, or handling of commercial foods shall be carried on in a domestic kitchen while other domestic activities are being carried on in such domestic kitchen, including, but not limited to, family meal preparation, serving, eating, dishwashing, clothes washing and ironing, cleaning of floors, walls, cabinets and appliances, or entertaining guests;

(f) Each domestic kitchen shall include and be provided with the following:

(A) A separate closed storage space for ingredients, finished product containers, and labels for commercial foods; A separate cabinet for all my supplies… no room for that

(B) Separate refrigerated facilities for storage of perishable products or ingredients utilized in the processing, preparing, or handling of commercial foods; A separate refridgerator.. no room for that

(C) A separate storage area for household cleaning materials and other chemicals or toxic substances.

(g) Medical supplies or equipment shall not be stored or allowed in the domestic kitchen;

(h) All domestic kitchens shall be available for inspection by the department between the week-day hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and the department shall, if it deems it advisable or necessary, inspect such premises on Saturdays or holidays or other times commercial foods are being processed, prepared, packaged, or handled.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 561.190 & ORS 616.700
Stats. Implemented: ORS 616.700
Hist.: AD 978(11-72), f. 8-28-72, ef. 9-15-72; Renumbered from 603-023-0396; AD 2-1987, f. & ef. 1-30-87

So in the house I’m currently living, my kitchen will not conform to their rules, and I don’t see any way to make it that way.  Since we are just renting, I can’t really put in a separate kitchen downstairs, as it’s not our house!  Plus the expense to put in a second kitchen, even with used cabinets and appliances, would be alot, I imagine.

So at this time, there is no possible way for me to make and sell my cakes to the general public.  As it is now, I just make them and give them away to family for birthdays, baby showers, etc.  It’s fun for me to make them, and it’s fun for family and friends to receive them.  So for now, that’s all there is to my cake decorating.  Maybe if we could someday buy a house I might start selling cakes on the side while working, but I can’t see any legal way to do it at this point.  So thank you to everyone for encouraging me to start a business, but it’s just not in the cards right now.  If only I could win the lottery…  😉

July 18, 2010. Cake, Info.

4 Comments

  1. jim cornwall replied:

    cool that you have your own blog now!

  2. myraruss replied:

    Thanks Jim! I wanted a place that people who aren’t on facebook could see the cakes I do. Plus I can write a little about how I did it, in case someone else wants to make the same cake!

  3. Jenny replied:

    Reality really stinks, sometimes, huh?!? Well, if it’s in the cards, it’ll happen someday. Let’s just keep taking cake classes to get you all prepared for when you can open a cakery!

  4. 2010 in review « Myra's Cakery replied:

    […] When are you opening a cakery?? July 20103 comments 3 […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

