Frozen Buttercream Transfer (FBCT)

Sooo… while reading my favorite cake pages, I see all kinds of acronyms that I don’t understand.  One was FBCT.  Then yesterday when I was looking for ways to make a certain cake  I realized that FBCT stood for Frozen ButterCream Transfer.  It’s when you take a design/picture, put wax paper over it, then pipe the design on the wax paper, put it in the freezer, after an hour or so, pop it on your cake and peel the wax paper off.  I think it might work for the cake I want to do, but I wanted to practice first to see if I could do it.  I have frosting leftover in the fridge from the 4th of July still… I always throw all my leftover icing tubes into the fridge thinking I might use them on the next project, but what usually happens is I find them taking up room in there a couple weeks later and throw all the icing out.  I had this brilliant idea today to use some of that old icing to practice the frozen buttercream transfer!

I grabbed a Hello Kitty coloring book I have… (yes, I have coloring books, and yes, I love Hello Kitty…) and found a picture that I wanted to try the transfer with.

I covered it with wax paper and started piping in the black lines with some black wilton frosting in a tube that I had bought to do the ladybugs with.  I should have taken pictures as I was doing this part, but I got so into it, I didn’t stop and pick up the camera!  After the black I did the red, blue and finished with the white.  Then I put it in the freezer for 10-15 minutes to harden up a little.  Then I put a layer of white over the whole backside to even it out.  Then back into the freezer for an hour or so.

While I was waiting, I remembered a trick I read about for practicing decorating.  Instead of making a cake to practice on, this lady said she just turned the cake pan over and decorated the cake pan.  Genius!  I don’t have to worry about what to do with the cake, and I’m only wasting frosting that I was going to throw away anyway!!  So I frosted the pan white, and added a red border at the bottom with black dots.  (We practiced dots in class last week ) As you can see in the pictures that follow, I didn’t quite have enough frosting to go all the way around the sides, so I just decorated half the side and made sure that was the front of the “cake”.

When the FBCT was ready, I took it out of the freezer, plopped it on the “cake” and peeled off the wax paper.  Pretty easy!  I was a little messy when I was doing the white icing on hello kitty’s face.  I knew I went into the black and I could have fixed it, but I just kept going since it was only a practice one.  So you can see how she’s messy by her nose.  That was completely my fault.

I think normally you would ice around the edge of the transfer so it’s not so obvious that it’s a half inch taller than the icing on the top of the cake, but I was pretty much out of white icing, so I couldn’t try.  I’m leaving it sit out for a while to see what happens as the transfer thaws.  I’ve read that it won’t run and it just turns soft like regular icing again.  We’ll see!  This was a cool technique to find and I’m glad I got to try it out!  I can see some uses for it in the future.  It’s similar to the piping gel transfer technique we learned in class last week, but with that you just transfer the outline onto your cake, then fill it in on the cake.  This way you do the whole thing off the cake, freeze, then put onto the cake.  Now to go wash off that cake pan…  At least I don’t have a whole cake to eat!!

July 13, 2010. Practice Cakes.

4 Comments

  1. Sandy newsom replied:

    Very cute and very cool. Great way to practice without having a cake to eat!

    • Sandy newsom replied:

      Very cute and very cool. And great to be able to practice without having a cake to eat!

  2. Crystal Kent replied:

    What kind of buttercream frosting did you use?

    • myraruss replied:

      It was a while ago so I can’t be certain, but it was probably just the butter cream recipe from the Wilton class. I think I just had some leftover.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

