Sweet Pea Baby Shower Cake

Jenny wanted a cake for the baby shower she’s throwing for her brother in law and his girlfriend.  She gave me one of the invitations and it was a cute little baby sleeping in a pea pod.

At first I thought I’d make a cake shaped like a pea pod or something, but I looked at some cakes on Cake Central and didn’t see any that either a. Were cute or b. I thought I could make!  I did have a picture saved in my favorites of a cute onesie that a lady made, and I had been wanting to try making a cake similar to it.  So I asked Jenny if I could make a Onesie cake and put the pea pod on the onesie.  Jenny said Sure!  Thank goodness she’s willing to let me try new things!  So I started out by baking 2 9×13 cakes.  One was Devil’s food and one was German Chocolate.  I cute one side even on both cakes and lined them up.

Then I found a template on Cake Central for a onesie.  It’s the same one EmilyGrace messaged me that she had used.  I played around with it in paint and word until I got it the size I needed, then printed it out and taped wax paper onto one side.  I laid it on the cake and cut around it to get the Onesie shape for the cake.  Then I frosted the whole thing with green butter cream.  I forgot to take pictures along the way because I was so busy making it!  After the butter cream, I mixed some fondant with gel colors until I got a similar shade of green fondant.  I cut strips to make the seem on the onesie and used the little dotted line cutter to make it look like the stitching.  I also cut out a couple little circles and dusted them with silver luster dust to make them look like the snaps.

Then I mixed some more fondant colors and made a little design that looked like the invitations to put on the front of the onesies.  It turned out pretty cute.

Then when I looked at it some more, I decided it needed something on the pea pod, so I wrote “little sweet pea”.

I think overall it turned out pretty cute!  I learned a lot while doing it, the next one could be better, I’m sure!  But it was a cute first attempt.

June 11, 2010. Baby Shower Cakes, Cake.

One Comment

  1. decoracion de pasteles replied:

    I’ve read several just right stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for
    revisiting. I surprise how a lot attempt you
    set to make this type of fantastic informative website.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

