Luke’s 1st Birthday 2010

Sam and Jenny told me Luke liked his rubber ducky, so I wanted to make a rubber ducky cake for his first birthday.  I looked for ideas on Wilton’s page and found “Bathtime’s just ducky” and knew that was the one.  Instead of buying sugar ducks for decorations, I thought I would try making ducks from a candy mold.  I wanted to do some cupcakes to go with the cake and I thought the candy ducks would go on them really good.  About a week before the party I went to Michael’s and bought all the supplies… fondant, fondant tools, candy molds, candy melts, frosting, a duck mold pan, etc.  A few days before the party I had to make the bar of soap out of fondant.  It turned out so cute, I couldn’t believe it!

Then a couple days before the party I started making the duck candies.  I had never made molded candy before, but it was actually really easy and fun.  I just heated the candy melts, then used a tiny paint brush to paint in the beak and eye, then filled the rest with yellow.  They turned out really cute and looked just like the picture on the mold!

The day before the party I made the cakes.  I made a 13×9 devil’s food cake and a 13×9 vanilla cake.  I cut them both into an oval shape and put raspberry filling between.

Then I iced them with buttercream and started working on the fondant.

I figured out how much fondant I thought it would take to cover the cake and started mixing in blue food color gel to get the blue color.

I mixed and mixed and mixed… and wished I could stop at the tie-dyed color above.  Finally I got a solid blue color.

Then I rolled it out and put it on the cake.  I’m still not great at getting the sides smooth, but it came out pretty good.

Then I started putting on the rows of fondant for the water.

At this point, the fondant cake was done until the day of the party.  Then I worked on making the cupcakes.  They were chai cupcakes.

I also baked the duck cake (just a basic yellow cake) and let it sit over night before decorating on the day of the party.

On the day of the party I had to make a whole bunch of fondant bubbles…

I also started frosting the duck…

It was hard to get the duck on the cake… I thought it was going to fall over.  I ended up propping some of the fondant bubbles around him in the hopes of keeping him upright until the party!  Let me tell you, the ride to the party with Shawn holding the cake was no fun!

Here’s the finished product:

By the time it was done, I could not believe that I had made this cake!  It turned out so cute!  I enjoyed working with the fondant, and look forward to my next fondant cake.  I think I like it because I’m not so great and piping and making straight lines, and with fondant you cut things out and they look so precise and clean.

June 5, 2010. Tags: . Baby Shower Cakes, Cupcakes, Fondant.

One Comment

  1. Betty replied:

    Nice cake, very cute. Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

