Baby Shower Rocket Cake

Jenny asked if I would make a cake for a baby shower for her cousin.  I said sure! because it gave me an excuse to do some more decorating!  The shower has a space theme and I was a little unsure how to work that into a baby shower!  But I went to my trusty old Wilton webpage and found the “Incredible Voyage” cake.  I visited Michael’s again to buy a football cake pan and some other things.  The day before the party I baked the football.

I also made some stars out of fondant because I had an idea to add some cupcakes to the design.

Once the cake cooled, I frosted the whole thing in blue icing and started marking off lines for where I needed the door and windows to be.  Also added the rocket supports at the bottom.

Then I added the details

and the fire and smoke at the bottom

I made a little baby face with fondant and added him to the window.

Then finished it off with some star cupcakes.

Jenny just picked it up this morning to take to the shower today.  I hope everyone enjoys it!

June 5, 2010. Baby Shower Cakes, Cupcakes.

One Comment

  1. 2010 in review « Myra's Cakery replied:

    […] Baby Shower Rocket Cake June 2010 […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

