The Mario Cake… September 2008

My nephew was turning 13 and I wanted to make him a really cool cake.  He was always wearing this shirt that had Mario from Super Mario bros. on it, but the old pixilated 8-bit Mario.  So I went to work figuring out how I find a similar image and make it into a cake.  Here’s what I did:

I started by finding the image I wanted to use online and printing it out.  Then I used a ruler to grid it out.

Then I actually went to Excel and made myself a similar grid, and filled in the boxes with the right colors.  Then played with the size until I got it where I wanted it.  So here’s the original image on the right, and the one I made in Excel, printed and cut out on the left.  I taped wax paper to the back of the image so I could lay it on the cake without it getting stuck or greasy.

Then I baked 2 13×9 cakes (one chocolate with mini chocolate chips and one vanilla with mini chocolate chips.  I put the cakes side by side, put the Mario template on top, and started cutting out the shape.

When I was done, I removed the template, and this is what I had:

Then the hard part started… I didn’t really know how to ice it!  I started by icing the whole thing with vanilla (white) icing as a kind of crumb coat.  Then I went in and started filling in the colors.

At this point, I thought maybe I was done.  But then I realized the white sides didn’t look good, so I had to figure out how to cover all those right angles with colored frosting!  It was a pain, but I finally got it covered.

We took it over for the party and Dylan really liked it.

This one was hard to cut up and eat, but we did, and it was delicious!

June 4, 2010. Birthday Cakes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

